SANS territorial directorates are established in the cities of the Administrative Districts

Under Decree No 316 from 23 December 2009 the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Bulgaria has determined the Territorial Directorates of the State Agency for National Security (SANS). The Decree is issued in the implementation of the State Agency for National Security Act (SANS Act) and the Regulations for the Implementation of the SANS Act, which were amended respectively on 11th November and 17th December 2009.

The 27 territorial directorates have been established with areas of responsibility covering the state administrative districts. The Decree outlines the final stage of the new legislative base which initiates the reform of the Agency. It also comes to implement the new "Concept of  the organization and management of SANS" meant to transform the Agency into a new well-organized and effective body.